…because when you’re unemployed, you can’t really pull the “case of the Mondays” card.

However, working and jobless folk alike are susceptible to the lesser-known “case of the PBs.” This symptomatic condition is most easily detected by its token warning sign: an insatiable craving for all things peanut butter. Doesn’t sound so bad, does it? The seriousness of this delectable indisposition depends entirely on the duration of the PBs. 24 hours of craving and consuming PB? Sign me up. But an entire week of PB on-the-brain and in-the-tum takes its toll.

I felt my current case manifesting last night, so I opted for a PB-infused dinner.

IMG_0432

Not the most glamorous shot, but these cold peanut noodles definitely hit the spot. Here’s my ridiculously easy recipe for this big bowl o’ PB goodness:

Ingredients:

-2 oz. whole wheat spaghetti

-2 tbsp. creamy peanut butter

-1 tbsp. crushed peanuts

-2 tbsp. vanilla soy milk

-2 teaspoons soy sauce

-1 tsp. honey

-1 tsp. sesame seeds

-1/8 tbsp. minced garlic

Simply, cook the spaghetti according to the directions on the box. Mix all of the ingredients together well. Add the cooked pasta, and let chill in the fridge for at least an hour.

I thought this was a trustworthy antidote to lull my oncoming ailment. But when (what seemed like) a never-ending bowl of peanut-buttery deliciousness left me only wanting more, I was sure I’d fallen victim to the PBs.

When ill, you must give the body what it needs. And so, I relaxed, watched the VMAs, tried not to expend too much energy screaming at Kanye and consumed a bag of popcorn. Dipped in PB.

After a very artistic and swirly cup of coffee this morning,

IMG_0436 IMG_0437 IMG_0438 IMG_0439

I’d realized that my symptoms hadn’t subsided. And thus, PB was a must on the AM menu.

As a passionate lover of oat bran—and a current craver of PB—I’d decided upon my main ingredients but was unsure of what my somethin’ extra was going to be. Then it occurred to me, I’ve never tried PB & J oat bran!

I almost always eat my oats with a spoonful of nut butter, but I’ve never actually added jelly into the mix. So I decided to grab this Monday morning by its PB&J, and just do it.

IMG_0445

In the mix: 1/2 cup oat bran, 1 cup water, vanilla extract and thinly sliced banana—topped with none other than PB&J.

Another first? I tested out the infamous peanut butter drizzle, which worked perfectly…

IMG_0444 and left me with that highly-coveted and indescribable first peanut butter-packed bite.

IMG_0448

As Sheryl Crow once said, “the first bite is the peanut-butteriest.” No, that’s not right. But perhaps it’s time for a remix.

I can’t believe I’ve never attempted this foodie-staple of a breakfast before, but this will not be my last time.

I have to leave you with that drool-worthy spoonful because I have a lot of errands to run before I try out another foodie first this evening. Is the suspense killing you? A few hints: It doesn’t involve food, and it does involve the month of September.

Any guesses?

I’ll see you mañana with the rest of my eats, the progression (or secession)  of my PBs and my first foray into ______…

Hope your Mondays are going well!

-Sarah

